A Preacher in Paradise

Sorry I haven’t blogged in awhile!! I have been busy with school, changing my major, going home for fall break, and all kinds of good stuff.  But I am back on track! I’ll try and stay updated from now on!

So this post is about someone very very special to me.  He is my best friend.  His name is Collin Hall.

Collin is part of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and has been called on his mission to Hawaii.

I decided to dedicate a post to him because he has been my friend for many years and people should know how amazing he is :)

If you don’t know how Mormon missions work, men between the ages of 19-25 can sign up to do a mission if they feel called to do it.  They then go through a process of getting ready for the mission and find out where they are called to a few months before they go to the Missionary Training Center.

For men, a mission lasts for two years, and the only contact they can have with their friends and family is by letter, sometimes e-mail.  They completely dedicate their lives to spreading the word of Jesus Christ every day for those two years.

Heavy, right?  Yes.  And it takes a special kind of person to do this.  It takes a lot of courage and love to do these missions.

Collin is definitely one of those people.  He’s without a doubt the best guy I know, and I’m very lucky to have him in my life.

He left this morning for the MTC and couldn’t be there to see him off at the airport.  Luckily, my fall break just so happened to fall on this weekend so I got to spend time with him.  How does that happen you ask?  It’s a God thing :)

So now you know that he is an amazing person, nuff said.  The other important thing you should know is that this kid can sing.  He’s so talented.  So here is a video of him playing for me and my other best friend Lauren last Christmas break.

(kind of short, but long enough for you to hear how awesome he is)

I love you Collin, you are going to great and wonderful things out there, and I can’t wait to hear all about it.  I’m going to miss you so much, and I’m so incredibly proud of you :)

If you’re interested, his sister is keeping up a blog for him and keeping us all informed of the fantastic things he is doing.  Keep him in your prayers.

Aloha.

Much love,

Lauren

One thought on “A Preacher in Paradise

  1. Pingback: My Toughest Project Yet | clothespinlife

Leave a Reply

