Batman Shoes

I have been DYING to post about this project.  But they were for a friend’s birthday so I had to wait until then.

I was inspired by Pinterest of course to make these.  The second I saw them, I knew I had to make them for my lovely friend because Batman is her favorite superhero.  Could it be more perfect? Alright, time for instructions.

Supplies needed:

  • Ballet flats
  • Mod Podge – DIY recipe here that’s cheaper than buying the real stuff
  • Foam brushes or paint brushes
  • Comic strips (of your choice)
  • Rotary cutter or scissors
  • Tape

Step 1:  Cut out comic and lightly tape it on the shoe where you want it

I found it easy to tape the comic where I wanted that way I could cut off the edges without it moving.

Step 2:  Once you have the comic cut the way you want to form to the shoe, put Mod Podge on the comic and place it on the shoe.

Now this was definitely a trial of cutting out each comic to match the shoe the way I wanted to, and it was very tedious.  My rotary cutter wasn’t very good so I couldn’t do what I originally wanted to do, so I had to improvise and use scissors, which led to some mistakes.

What I would recommend, is glue on all your comics the way you want without cutting them, then once they’re all on, take a sharp rotary cutter and go around the edges of your shoes cutting off the excess comics.

Step 3 – Finally, once your shoe is covered in awesome superhero cartoons, take the Mod Podge and brush a light coat of it all over the shoe.  It’ll make them stay better and make them shiny.

Here are some shots of my final product:

 

It’s just about playing around with what you like, but all in all, you’re ripping up paper and gluing it to shoes with Mod Podge.  You can’t mess it up.

Mod Podge has to be my favorite crafting thing to do, it’s so easy and you can use it for almost anything.  Couldn’t live without it.

Well I hope you enjoyed my first official crafting post, hopefully you’ll give this a try!

Much love,

Lauren

6 thoughts on “Batman Shoes

Leave a Reply

