Working on a New Year’s Resolution

One of my resolutions is to be much more mindful, kind, and caring of people. In general I’d like to think I’m a nice person, but I want to take it to the next level.

I haven’t officially started on this yet, but it’s been on my mind quite a bit, and I want to encourage you to do the same thing.

Why not tell someone random on the street that they look nice today?

Why not pay for the person’s coffee behind you in the drive-thru at Starbucks?

If someone did those things for you, it would turn your crappy day right around.

And it takes no effort – okay maybe for some people also having a rough day it takes some effort to be nice…but the nicer you are to others, the nicer you will be.

The biggest thing about this resolution is I don’t want it to be for my satisfaction.  I don’t want to do a good deed to make me feel better knowing I did something nice…I truly want to make someone feel good with no ego or conceitedness attached.

Life is too short to be miserable, and if you have the ability to spread joy around you should do it.  Then hopefully it will become this domino effect of people wanting do things for each other to be happy.

Why not?

Much love,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

